Hello world!

Welcome to my blog!

I’m a blind woman living near the coast of North Carolina with my husband, our adult children, and three lovely cats. I spent most of my childhood on and around various US military bases, my high school and college years in Michigan, and the past twenty-odd years here in North Carolina, raising a family with the man I married in 1992.

In 2013, I lost my sight-and nearly my life-to a massive brain tumor. The tumor, thankfully, was non-malignant, and a combination of surgery and radiation has made it unlikely that it will ever come back. I got lucky. Very, very lucky.

From the day I came home from the hospital, and even before, I was determined that my vision loss wasn’t going to keep me from leading an active life and doing interesting things. My family and friends agreed 100%, and they’ve been behind me every step of the way. They’ve helped me whenever I’ve needed help, but they’ve also done something even harder: taken a step back and let me do things on my own, even when it was frustrating and hard, or they could have done it better. Once again, I got lucky.

When I first decided to blog, I wanted to write about surviving a brain tumor, about my blindness, and about how both have and have not changed my life. I still do. But I want to write about more than that. A lot more. Because there’s a lot more to me, and that’s important too.

Blindness has shaped me. It doesn’t define me.

I’m a blind woman. I’m a brain tumor survivor. I’m a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother. I’m a reader, sometimes a writer, and I intend one day to be an author. I’ve rarely met a craft or hobby I didn’t like. I cook and wash dishes, I do the laundry and help manage the household budget. I go to various group meetings and take free classes through the Small Business Center, and I volunteer occasionally, and hope to do more.

So what is this blog about? It’s about being me, living my life. My experiences, my activities, my thoughts and opinions. I hope you’ll enjoy visiting, and I hope you’ll share yours from time to time as well.

Welcome aboard!

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

    1. Donna, so good to see you here! I’ve been meaning to start a blog for a long time, but kept putting it off. Well, I’ve finally bitten the bullet.

      Gotta admit, there’s a bit of a learning curve–I still haven’t figured out to do some of the formatting I want–but I’m learning day by day.

      Come on by any time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

