Scrambling Up the Learning Curve

When I decided to do this blog, I wanted to do it up right. I was going to post every weekday. I was going to have plenty of links, and they were going to be good links.

Other bloggers do it, right?

Turns out it hasn’t been that easy.

First, I have to write the posts. That shouldn’t be too hard. An average post is around 500-1000 words, and I have plenty to say.

Ah, but I have to say it cogently and clearly. If I want to add links, I need to track them down. Once the post is written, I have to at least scan it for typos and extra words.

Then, I have to post the thing…

I haven’t found WordPress particularly intuitive to navigate with keyboard and screen reader.

 

I can only get into the text editor for posts by way of the Title field, which is super annoying when something knocks me out of the post and I have to get back into the editor. I have to go back to the Title field and tab back in, then find my place in the text. Super annoying!

More annoying, the buttons inside the editor for formatting posts are invisible to me. Luckily, there are a slew of keyboard shortcuts to perform (most of) those functions. Keys, I can find!

 

Unfortunately, I had to search out that information, and searching out information takes time.

I actually spent a lot of time with Google last week. Every time I turned around, I was typing in, “How do I do X on my WordPress blog?” This was frequently, though not always, followed by, “How do I do X by keyboard on my WordPress blog?”

This was followed by following multiple links on the search results page, reading articles until I found information I needed in a format I could use.
And there’s still so much I need to learn!

 

I haven’t figured out how to do subheadings–the keyboard trick for those doesn’t seem to work, or I haven’t figured out how to work it. A blogroll would be nice to have. And somewhere along the way, I’ve got to learn to post images. I can’t see them, but other people can. There’s so much left to learn!

 

All of this is okay. I mean, there’s a learning curve to everything. It will get smoother and faster as I learn the site and its quirks and get more comfortable with the interface. But it is going to take time.

So, all of this to say: If I don’t post as often as I’d like, or my posts aren’t as pretty as they could be, bear with me.

I’m learning as fast as I can!

2 thoughts on “Scrambling Up the Learning Curve

  1. Actually, very few bloggers post every day. Those are usually conglomerate sites that have staff writers. Even then, you may only see three posts a week (M, W, F). Some of the decent-sized blogs don’t even post that often. It’s always surprising to me.

    So I’d ease up on yourself.

    As for post length, I try to stay as close to 500 as possible. I can’t remember where I got that number. I think it was in a piece on the best ways to catch readers’ attention. After you get past 600 words, you either need to be REALLY fascinating or have subheds. (That’s spelled correctly, believe it or not.)

    If you want to do subheds, go to the Visual tab. (There’s one Visual and one Text tab when you go to write a post). You’ll see a drop-down menu with the word “Paragraph” in it. If you review the list, you’ll see options for a set of heading sizes.

    Don’t forget, you can always write this in MS Word — there are link options there even — and then copy/paste it into the actual post page. You’ll lose some formatting on subheds, so be sure to use the Preview feature to see how they look and adjust accordingly.

    Like

    1. Ha! You’re definitely right that I should ease up on myself. I do read a couple of personal blogs that update every day or nearly every day, and I want to update as often as possible, but daily may not be a realistic goal, at least at first.

      I learned long ago in writing flash fiction that it can be harder to write short than to write long. I’ve noticed that what doesn’t seem long in WordPad or jarte sometimes seems a lot longer when I read it on the blog. Something else to work on! 🙂

      Unfortunately, my software doesn’t seem to let me see the icons on the Visual editor. There is probably a command that would let me navigate to them, but I haven’t found it yet, so I’m stuck with the keyboard shortcuts.

      What I have found is the Text editor, which lets me stick in HTML tags. It means I’ll have to go hunt down and relearn tags for things like images, lists, and links, but it’s got the advantage of being familiar–and easy for me to “see” and edit.

      Thanks for reading and leaving a comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

