Saturday’s Excursion” Downtown Morehead City and Jib!

Well, after a long dry spell, I’m finally getting out of the house again.

Saturday, MrH and our sons took me out to breakfast to celebrate my birthday. (Saturday wasn’t my birthday. Saturday was the day all four of us could be in the same place at the same time, and awake. So Saturday it was.)

We went to Golden Corral, because I do love their breakfast buffet.

Buffets are difficult for me, because even if I can navigate to the serving tables, I can’t tell what’s what or easily find the serving utensils. So I walked with my husband while he told me what was there and filled my plate, then he seated me and went back up for his own food. It’s not a perfect system, but it works for us.

If I were dining alone, I’d have to ask a server for assistance, or–more likely–I’d go to a sit-down restaurant where a server brings food directly to your table. We had a lovely breakfast and a good conversation.

Downtown

After breakfast, the boys went home and my husband and I continued downtown to walk on the waterfront and take some pictures for the blog.

He parked in a lot that we’ve parked in before, and I was able to tell where we were. I had wanted to try to navigate by myself, but I ended up taking his hand in my free hand as we walked.

I’m finding that if I’m walking with someone, I really like to have a hand on their elbow or arm. It’s really not as much a matter of using them as a guide as just keeping track of where they are, so I don’t drift away or bump into them.

Besides, I like holding hands with my husband! 🙂

Our objective was the bronze statue of Jib the blue marlin, a fountain and monument sponsored by the Big Rock Blue Marlin Tournament as part of the Downtown Morehead City Revitalization Association’s efforts to, well, revitalize the downtown.

The area around the fountain is being repaved with sponsored bricks to offset the cost of building the statue and fountain, and I could definitely feel the texture under my cane.

I could hear the splashing of the fountain as we approached, and if it had been windier, I might have felt the spray in the air. Unfortunately, though I could feel and even sit on the retaining wall around the fountain, I couldn’t actually touch the statue in order to “see” it.

My husband took several pictures of me standing in front of Jib and sitting on the fountain’s edge. We were going to post one as a profile picture…but his computer was at the office over the weekend, and today he copied the pictures to a thumb drive…which he promptly left stuck in the computer. Maybe tomorrow, lol.

We stopped at the hobby store to browse on the way home and made it back sometime around noon. I lay down–just for a minute!–and ended up sleeping half the afternoon away. So much for getting anything done!

All in all, it was a nice day. It’s always good to spend time with MrH and the boys, and I’d love to be able to get out and walk downtown more often.

What about you? Did you do anything exciting over the weekend? Does the downtown near you have any fun attractions to visit?

[Note: I was going to link to something about Jib, but I couldn’t find one that seemed to have pictures, and the local newspaper’s site kept bouncing my cursor around and wouldn’t let me navigate the articles. Boo.]

Leave a Reply

