Is Tired My New Normal?

I’m tired, y’all. August has been a rough month.

Part of it is stress.

Money’s been tight. In July, we paid off a few extra bills that have been hanging over us, and I’d hoped the momentum would continue into August. In fact, we did pay off a thing or two–and a couple others promptly rose up to take their places.

Our tax bill more than doubled for last year, and our insurance premiums quardupled. Some days it feels like we’ll never quite catch up, let alone get ahead. We’re doing what we can, but it’s a scary place to be.

MrH’s pinched nerve has gotten a little better, but the pain continues to flare up at the drop of a hat. We had SCA activities scheduled two weeks in a row and had to beg off both times because he wasn’t up to going. Toward the end of the month, we were asked to help with another demo, and we said we’d try to make it. Nope.

So we’re 0 for 3, and it gets frustrating. Some days it feels like between money and health, we’ll never get out and have any fun again.

I wasn’t at my healthiest, either. At the end of July, my health care provider took me off one blood pressure medication, a diuretic, and doubled a different medication. The change hit me hard.

For the better part of two weeks, I felt wrung out and drained. My feet and ankles swelled by the end of every day, and I could feel the pressure in my sinuses, occasionally to the point of having headaches.

Worse, the change affected me mentally and emotionally. I got cranky and irritable, sometimes illogical. My moods were all over the place. I was convinced that certain friends didn’t want me around and were working to shut me out. It was like having my old buddy Bob the Brain Tumor back again.

A couple of weeks later, when my fluid levels had adjusted, all of that went away as if it had never been. I know there’s a fluid-filled space in my brain where Bob used to be. My best guess is that in addition to my ankles and sinuses, extra fluid accumulated there, putting pressure on the same spots in my brain that Bob once occupied.

Scary stuff, especially because we didn’t realize what was going on until after the fact.

Taking on as Much as I Can

The other half of the tired equation is that I’m taking on new stuff, trying to do more and more.

I’ve continued trying to plan and cook meals, though I fell down a little in those dreadful weeks of feeling sick. Cooking dinner one night isn’t too much of a challenge. Cooking dinner almost every night, especially when you usually cook from scratch, takes more of a toll.

In September, I’d like to be a bit more systematic about planning and prepping meals, and rely less on last-minute standbys like hot dogs and tacos. That should help the cash flow, too!

I’ve been spending a lot of time on the computer.

I aim to post three times a week here, though sometimes it’s only two, plus my two monthly staff posts for Budgeting in the Fun Stuff. Some of my posts on both blogs require at least a little research, which means still more time at the computer.

My fiction writing has been taking a back seat, but I’m trying to bring that forward as well, now that I’ve got WordPress at least somewhat figured out.

And of course there are critiquing obligations in the various writer’s groups in which I participate, and occasionally for friends.

Unfortunately, writing takes brain power, and there’s only so much of me to go around. I seem to be good for roughly 1000-1500 serious words a day, spread out among blog posts, stories, and critiques.

After that, I’m tired and headachy and my brain has turned to mush. No more serious writing is going to get done that day, though sometimes I’ll read and comment at other blogs.

This is bad, because I’m hoping eventually to make a living writing. If I top out at 1500 words on a good day, it’s not going to scale.

My hope now is that with practice, I can build up my word count over time. Otherwise, it’s a hobby income and I need to go back to the drawing board.

Less Computer Time?

I’m beginning to think I need to find more things to do away from the computer and (audiobooks). As much as I love both, my brain can only handle so much audio input, and then it’s time to give it a rest.

I’m not talking about housework, either. I certainly do my share, and washing the dishes or folding some laundry can be a great mental break, but it’s not really what I’d consider recreation!

I’d like to get more physical activity, like dancing or walking, and I need to find a way to fit that in.

I think what I really need, though, is more tactile and manual activity. I really need to go through my craft supplies and start some projects.

Maybe that could be the answer to more than one problem. Weave a few scarves, make a few leather pouches, and open a tiny Etsy store. Throw in some paracord keychains and bracelets, too. And I’ve got some great ideas for holiday ornaments.

Maybe I could at least make enough to keep me in craft supplies…lol

How’s life treating you? What do you do when life seems to be out to get you down? Are you an arts and crafts person, or really not a fan?

Leave a Reply

