A Quick Update, and some links to enjoy

Is it just me, or has November flown by? Make that all of 2015, actually – I can’t believe it’s already nearly 2016.

MrH and I were supposed to finish our small business class last Thursday, but our area got a whopping seven inches of rain and the entrance to our park was underabout half a foot of water. There was no way our tiny car was going through that!

Apparently we weren’t the only ones affected, because the class was postponed until the first week of December. Which is coming right up, come to think of it…

I met with my Vocational Rehabilitation counselor today. She’s pleased with my progress, and beginning in January I’m going to take some of the writing courses available online at the local community college.

She said that she’s not concerned with how much money I’m making, as long as I’m progressing toward a work goal.

Unfortunately, I do need to be somewhat concerned about that. Things are pretty tight around here, and MrH shouldn’t have to carry the load alone. Progress is all well and good, but I need to be an active earning partner.

My counselor did say she could refer me to a placement counselor, but we’re going to give the writing more time to pan out first. Which means…

I need to get busy writing.

So while I’m doing that, here are some other things of interest for your amusement:
Abigail at I Pick Up Pennies tells the story of how she survived Guillaine-Barre Syndrome:

Part 1 and
Part 2

Meanwhile, Donna Freedman offers some great advice about improving your writing – or any skill.

Award-winning, best-selling author John Scalzi blogs about the day he spent in a wheelchair. I actually missed this at the time, because I was away. I’m glad I caught it. There’s some particularly great stuff in the comments.

On a related note, Award-winning writer and puppeteer Mary Robinette Kowal invites Scifi/fantasy fans to sign the SF/F Convention Accessibility Pledge.

And finally, Crystal at Budgeting in the Fun Stuff has an important reminder for the busy holiday season – or any time!

If I don’t check in before then, I hope all of you in the US have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and those outside the US have a wonderful Thursday.

Leave a Reply

