Merry Christmas!

Or other seasonal greetings of your choice!

Wow…it’s been a while. I didn’t mean to let so much time go by between posts!

To be honest, most of my computer time in December has been spent in a haze, a fog in which stringing together more than 140 characters seemed like a major feat.

I’m Tired

To be fair, I haven’t exactly been idle.

In November, MrH and I took the Small Business Ownership Basics class, 24 fairly intense contact hours squished into two weeks’ time. Or it would have been, if not for the last class being rained out and rescheduled – but we still got the hours in!

After that came Thanksgiving, followed by not one, but two Christmas parades on consecutive weekends.

The weekend after that was taken up by an SCA potluck which lasted most of the day. To be honest, by that last Saturday I wanted to sit on the bed and cry at the thought of having to go one more place and do one more thing.

During that time, I also taught myself Twitter, which proved to be easier than FaceBook, even the mobile version, but nonetheless required a fair bit of mental energy.

I enjoyed all these things, even the party once I actually got there, but the exhaustion I’ve felt afterward is a good reminder that I don’t have the energy I once did, and I need to pick and choose my activities carefully to avoid overextending myself.

‘Tis the Season

And this year none of us have been particularly jolly.

It’s been a rough year for us financially, and after the December bills were paid, it didn’t look like we’d have much of a Christmas. We were fortunate to receive generous gifts from family members and one of MrH’s clients, but it was hard not to be able to do much for the boys or each other, as we have in the past.

With our time and energy wrapped up in so many other demands, we didn’t put up the tree or any other decorations, and I didn’t get around to sending out holiday cards.

In addition, this season has often been one of loss for our family. Several years ago, MrH’s father died in the weeks before Christmas. The very next year, his aunt died of incurable cancer in early December.

The second death was especially hard on all of us, partly because it came so close on the heels of the first, and partly because I moved into her house temporarily to be her caregiver for six of her last eight weeks on Hospice care. The family separation, as well as the death, took a toll.

Most years, these losses are only a somber note in an otherwise joyous celebration, but this year, perhaps because of the other strains, the sense of loss has been strong this year.

And death has brushed our festivities once again this year. A few days ago, we learned that one of MrH’s old friends had passed away earlier this month. Though they hadn’t seen each other in years, there was a closeness there, and he will be missed.

Winter’s Dark Days

Finally, as Donna Freedman points out, until a few days ago, the days have been growing darker and the nights longer.

Though it hasn’t been particularly cold here, it has been dark and frequently dreary. Though I’m not usually affected too much by the “winter blues,” I don’t think any of this has helped!

Brighter Days Ahead

The darkest night must end, and with the passing of the solstice, there are literally brighter days ahead. (Except for our friends in the Southern hemisphere – sorry about that!) The seasonal frenzy has reached its peak, and in a week or so, things will be mostly back to normal, or what passes for normal around here.

I’m feeling better rested, and my creative energies are recharging. This week, for the first time since December began, I actually felt the urge to sit down and write.

My plan is to take the rest of December off, at least from the blog, and regroup and refocus so that I can move forward in the coming year. Whether this will succeed is another story, but for now, that’s the plan.

How has the holiday season treated you? Are you ready for things to quiet down a bit too? I hope the remaining days of 2015 are merry and bright for you, and that 2016 brings you wonderful things!

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. We had several hard Christmases in a row a few years ago, so I can relate to the sadness you’ve mentioned and am also grateful the days are beginning to get longer again. It is amazing the difference a little extra light in the day can make. Hope your new year is off to a joyous start!

    Like

    1. 🙂 Thanks. It’s off to a decent start so far. And we’ve all had a chance to rest a bit, which makes a difference!

      I hope your new year is off to a good start, and continues to bring you wonderful things!

      Thanks for stopping by, and for leaving a comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

