Playing Catch-Up…Again

OMG, y’all. Computers!

As some readers may know via social media, early this year we replaced my dying computer with a new-to-me refurbished machine. Great, other than the steep learning curve of upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 10–until the new hard drive tanked and had to be replaced.

We backed up my files, but I lost all my settings, programs, bookmarks and cookies. So, for the second time in a few months, I was back to square one, trying to remember what settings I’d tweaked and where, finding and reinstalling programs, recalling what sites I wanted to bookmark and relocating them, digging up passwords so I could log back in.

Urgh! And, frankly, it was a lot harder to drum up the same enthusiasm the second time around.

Balls were dropped–among them this blog.

I did write you a few posts, but, daunted by the complexity of logging back into WordPress, relocating my dashboard, changing the settings in the editor to accept my html tags, and actually posting, I let them lie fallow in my blog folder.

Bad blogger! No biscuit!

So, other than the harrowing tribulations of the modern computer age, what’s been going on here?

A Plethora of Produce

When our younger son found out we’d signed up for a weekly produce box through a local CSA program, he didn’t miss a beat.

“Just what this family needs,” he said. “More things we don’t eat going bad in the refrigerator.”

Thanks, kiddo.

So far, that’s a fate we’ve mostly managed to avoid, though I’ve been kept scrambling trying to figure out how to use all of our veggie bounty–another contributor, no doubt, to my lack of internet presence.

We’ve enjoyed fresh figs and blackberries, discovered that our son likes oven-roasted beets and I rather enjoy stewed okra, and reconfirmed that none of us particularly likes spaghetti squash.

I wanted us to try new fruits and veggiesand to increase the amount of them in our diet. I think I’ve succeeded, but but it remains to be seen whether the gains will last past the last fall produce delivery.

MrH Goes to Kamp

Kilt Kamp, that is, where participants start on Sunday morning with a pile of fabric and notions and leave the following Friday with a completed kilt, taught and assisted by professional kilt makers along the way.

MrH has wanted to go for years, especially now that he’s trying to establish a historic/fantasy men’s tailoring business, and I’m so glad we had the chance to send him. We couldn’t have done it without the help of a couple of generous sponsors (who prefer to remain anonymous) and I want to thank them for helping make this a reality.

Visiting Michigan

I’ve been kind of down lately, wishing I could visit family and old friends in Michigan. Well, it looks like I’m going to get a chance to see at least some of them!

My neice is getting married the first weekend in September, and my mom and her boyfriend are driving down to North Carolina next week to pick me up. I’ll be there for about two weeks, and I hope I’ll get a chance to dosome visiting and reconnecting.

I’m so excited! And also apprehensive, because this is the first time I’ll be away from MrH and the boys for any length of time in an environment that isn’t specifically set up to deal with us blind folks.

I’m pretty secure by now about my ability to handle the big stuff–getting around the house, eating, dressing, bathing. It’s all the little things–will I be able to use their microwave? Find things in their kitchen if I want a snack? Run the washer and dryer?

Mom and G will be there to help me, but what if they’re asleep or they need to go out? Or what if they get frustrated by all the little things we’ve gotten so used to we just take them for granted?

What if I get bored? What if I get overtired? What if I get stranded somewhere at the wedding and don’t know where to go?

I’m sure it’ll all work out fine. I think this trip is going to stretch my boundaries in a good way, and I’m excited about that.

It’ll be an adventure.

And having adventures and being visible in the world are pretty much the reasons I started this blog. So…here I go!

2 thoughts on “Playing Catch-Up…Again

  1. Here’s a tip for those beets: When they’re roasted, slice them thinly and marinate them in sweet pickle vinegar. Then make a sandwich on toasted bread (well-buttered) with sliced egg and pickled beets. So. Darned. Good.

    Like

    1. Oh, I’ll have to try that! I found out after the fact that I should have roasted them whole, unskinned, roots and about an inch of the leaves intact, to hold in the natural sugars. Nope, I skinned them, cut them into chunks, tossed with a little oil, salt and pepper, and roasted as I would any other vegetable. This seemed to have the effect of caramelizing the natural sugars and creating a sweet coating on the outside. If it was wrong, I don’t want to be right!

      Like

Leave a Reply

